top of page

Workin' It is Hard Work...Especially For a Foodie

I think we are all a little guilty of reading those countless "Lose Weight Fast" and "THE New Diet That Actually Works" articles. For me, it was always the next new "Superfood." I guess my fat kid self always hoped there would be a revelation pizza diet or something. I've never been the type to eat fast food on a regular basis. In fact, I pretty much never do. For the most part, I eat generally healthy. However, my biggest weakness is sugar. Ahhh, the cruel satisfaction of every scoop of ice cream, cookie, donut or close-said relative. That's always been my biggest obstacle, and I've never been able to quit the stuff. It's most definitely an addiction, because without sweets, I feel unfulfilled, literally and emotionally. I've tried lots of stuff, and even went Paleo for about 6 months. Now THAT was hard, but rewarding in learning about how eating only whole foods can be healing for the body. But the way I see it, I'd rather be able to enjoy something sweet here and there than be obsessive over a strict diet and perfect body. It's all about that balance, especially being a foodie.

I was always kind of chubby when I was younger. Active, but chubby. I thinned out when I got to middle school, but once high school hit and like every girl out there, I thought I was fat. Looking back, I was nowhere near fat, so it was a shame so much time had been spent agonizing about it. When I got to college I kind of let loose a little like most do. I definitely gained the Freshman 10, but was still aware of not going too far with my eating. I was not the girl to workout. I hated the idea. I hated running. I had asthma. People with asthma couldn't run. These were my thoughts, and that's where it ended. However, I'm not really sure what hit me. Maybe it was seeing the highest number I'd ever seen on the scale, or just feeling blah all the time, but I decided I wanted it to change. And so I did.

I started like lots do with pinteresting workout routines, trying out the elliptical and learning basic weight training. Luckily, once we started dating, Jeremy was there to help and support me too. I got less fluffy, but still had some pretty annoying body fat. After graduating, I joined Gold's Gym in San Antonio. I took classes, did my own thing and started doing small group training with a personal trainer. That's where I really learned a lot and developed a love for weight lifting, burpees (sort of?) and more challenging circuits. I could finally see my body changing and little muscles starting to pop out. Because of my schedule and costs, I wavered in my dedication at Gold's Gym until I moved to Austin a year or so later. That's when I discovered the amazingness that is Class Pass. Basically, you get to try different kinds of fitness studios all over that particular city for a set price. It was great. I could jump from hot yoga one day, to crossfit on another. In all that time, I had always been a foodie, but college really gave me the opportunity to learn to cook healthy and delicious for myself. I always find it a great challenge in finding recipes that incorporate both of these factors.

I currently workout about 6Xs a week and have really fallen in love with the transformation both inside and out. To feel and see yourself getting stronger is a really beautiful thing. The gym I'm apart of, Athletic Outcomes, plays a big part into that. After being a part of Class Pass for about a year and a half, I was really craving some consistency with my workouts and routine, even though I loved the versatility. Athletic Outcomes, or AO, really challenged me in the way I needed. I've been a member for almost 6 months, and I've never been stronger or happier. I know I still have a long way to go, but the process has been so much fun and caused me to see my body differently. What makes AO standout from all the other gyms in Austin I've been to is how great the instructors are in creating their classes, motivating in the right ways and being great people all around. Pat and Britt Cook are the owners and instructors of AO and are so good at what they do. To me, the gym is my sanctuary...the place I go to be fully aware of myself and how I'm feeling. It's my place of discipline, unwinding and refocusing. I never thought in a million years I would become a morning workout person, because believe me, I love my sleep. But the impossible can happen when you put yourself up to it, and habits can be formed. Plus, getting home from a workout after work at 7 or 8pm started to get pretty tiring. If you've never thought you could do it, just try it out. We had a challenge of 30 classes in 30 days during the holidays, and it was not easy. I had to pull two-a-dayers just to earn rest days. It was rough, but I did it and really hammered in that early morning routine. With such a crazy schedule, I do have trouble slowing down sometimes. Rest days are SO important! And sometimes I have to remind myself of that and not feel guilty. Sometimes those days of body positivity are a struggle, but I've learned that remembering how far you've come can help to not fall back into that body shaming mindset. I am strong both physically and mentally, and will only continue to grow stronger as long as I allow myself to.

A favorite workout song of mine:

Kamikaze- MO

bottom of page